Start-SPEnterpriseSearchServiceInstance – SearchServiceInstance is not found on server”


I’ve got this error message when trying to start the Search Service on one of the machines on the farm.

The command I’ve used:

Start-SPEnterpriseSearchServiceInstance servername

 

The error message was:

Start-SPEnterpriseSearchServiceInstance : SearchServiceInstance is not found on server ‘servername’.

 

After fighting a while with SharePoint I realized my problem was on my farm data being cached on the SharePoint 2013 Management Shell window I was using. The server I was trying to start the Search Services on was only added to the farm a few minutes before on the same SharePoint 2013 Management Shell window and even though the command Get-SPServer was showing the new server name on it, the cache for the farm on the powershell window was preventing me from accessing the server.

After I closed the SharePoint 2013 Management Shell window and opened a new one, the Start-SPEnterpriseSearchServiceInstance command worked just fine.

 

See you,

Amadeu.

 

Leave a Reply

